Committees of Metso's Board of Directors

Metso Corporation's stock exchange release on October 1, 2013 at 2:15 p.m. local time

The Extraordinary General Meeting of Metso Corporation, held today on October
1, 2013, approved the proposed plan for partial demerger and decided to demerge
Metso into two companies, Metso and Valmet. The planned registration date of the
completion of the demerger is December 31, 2013.

Metso's Board of Directors held its assembly meeting today and elected the
members of the Audit Committee and the Remuneration and HR Committee.

From among its members, Metso's Board elected Eeva Sipilä as Chairman and Lars
Josefsson and Nina Kopola as members of the Audit Committee. Mikael Lilius was
elected Chairman and Christer Gardell and Ozey K. Horton Jr. members of the
Remuneration and HR Committee.

The term of office of the new Board of Directors will begin on the registration
date of the completion of the demerger, when decisions about the members of the
Board's committees will also become effective.

Metso is a global supplier of technology and services to customers in the
process industries, including mining, construction, pulp and paper, power, and
oil and gas. Our 30,000 professionals based in over 50 countries contribute to
sustainability and deliver profitability to customers worldwide. Metso's shares
are listed on the NASDAQ OMX Helsinki Ltd.,

Further information for investors, please contact:

Aleksanteri Lebedeff, SVP, General Councel, Metso Corporation, tel
+358 20 484 3240

Metso Corporation

Harri Nikunen


Juha Rouhiainen

VP, Investor Relations


NASDAQ OMX Helsinki Ltd