The Award was made possible through a donation from the Sunds Defibrator company to the Arne Asplund Mechanical Pulping Award Foundation in 1985. The Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Foundation is Professor Göran Bengtsson.

Nominations for the award

A Selection Committee for the Arne Asplund Mechanical Pulping Award is chosen by the Swedish Association of Pulp and Paper Engineers, SPCI. The committee is chaired by Professor Göran Bengtsson. Currently, other members of the Committee are Mr. Jan Hill, Qualtech, Dr. Tomas Björkqvist, Tampere University of Technology, Dr. Kjell-Arve Kure, Norske Skog and Professor Rodger Beatson, BCIT.


Valmet is a leading global developer and supplier of services and technologies for the pulp, paper and energy industries. Valmet’s professionals around the world work close to our customers and are committed to moving your performance forward – every day.